About us

6th European Conference on Scientific Diving 2021

Dear scientific divers,

Due to the corona pandemic, we unfortunately have had to postpone the 6th European Conference on Scientific Diving originally scheduled to take place in April 2020. We have hoped to welcome you personally in Freiberg in April this year. Unfortunately, due to the ongoing restrictions, this will not be possible. In consultation with the ESDC panel, we have agreed to host a solely digital event instead. In recent months, we have been able to gain a lot of experience in this field and are now pleased to be able to invite you to our virtual conference on 21 & 22 April 2021!

On our conference website's submenus you can find all further details for the upcoming conference. Here you can submit your abstracts.

Due to the format change, we will also lower the conference fee to 50 Euros for both days. All further questions regarding the upcoming conference can be sent to the following e-mail: ecsd6@sdc.tu-freiberg.de

We look forward to discussing your current research activities together at the 6th ECSD 2021.

Stay healthy and see you soon - virtually :)

Your ECSD Organizing Committee

About the European Conference on Scientific Diving

The European Conference on Scientific Diving (ECSD) provides a major international forum to present scientific results achieved by means of scientific diving as a research tool.

Every year, the ECSD attracts the European leaders in the field of scientific diving, but also provides a platform to encourage significant participation from students and early stage researchers.


The ECSD in its current form was initiated in 2015 by the Marine Board European Scientific Diving Panel (ESDP). Their aim was to combine the “International Symposium on Occupational Scientific Diving (ISOSD)” and the international workshop “Research in Shallow Marine Water Systems” into one general annual meeting.

The first ECSD took place in Stuttgart, Germany, in 2015. The following conferences were hosted in Kristineberg, Sweden (2016), Funchal, Madeira/Portugal (2017), Orkney, Scotland/UK (2018), and Sopot, Poland (2019), respectively.

The inaugural International Symposium on Occupational Scientific Diving (ISOSD) took place in Bremerhaven, Germany, in 2007. The second and third symposia were held in Helsinki, Finnland (2009), and Lecce, Italy (2011), respectively.

The International “Workshop Research in Shallow Marine and Fresh Water Systems” initially took place in Freiberg, Germany, in 2009. The second workshop followed in Milazzo, Italy, in 2010, and the third edition happened in Bremen, Germany, in 2013.

The aforementioned former gatherings aimed at facilitating technical and scientific discussions amongst international scientific divers. Thereby, the focus was on methodology and equipment used for scientific diving investigations.

Overview of all past events

European Conference on Scientific Diving (ECSD)

  • 2019: Institute of Oceanology, Polish Academy of Sciences, ​Sopot, Poland, 24 - 27 April
  • 2018: Heriot Watt University, Stromness Town Hall, Orkney, Scotland, 09 - 12 April
  • 2017: Clube Naval do Funchal, Madeira, Portugal, 22 - 23 March
  • 2016: Lovén Centre, Kristineberg, Sweden, 09 - 11 May
  • 2015: University of Stuttgart, Institute of Biomaterials and Biomolecular Systems, Stuttgart, Germany, 02 - 03 March

International Symposium on Occupational Scientific Diving (ISOSD)

  • 2011: 3rd ISOSD of the Marine Board European Scientific Diving Panel (ESDP), Porto Cesareo, Lecce, Italy, 09 - 12 November
  • 2009: 2nd ISOSD of the Marine Board European Scientific Diving Panel (ESDP), University of Helsinki, Tvärminne Zoological Station, Helsinki, Finland, 06 - 08 October
  • 2007: 1st ISOSD of the German Commission for Scientific Diving (Kommission Forschungstauchen Deutschland / KFT), Alfred-Wegener-Institute for Polar and Marine Sciences, Bremerhaven, Germany, 15 - 16 October

International Workshop “Research in Shallow Marine Water Systems”

Scientific Committee

  • Dr. Piotr Balazy, Institute of Oceanology, Polish Academy of Sciences, Sopot, Poland
  • Prof. Dr. Franz Brümmer, Universität Stuttgart, Germany
  • Prof. Dr. Massimo Ponti, University of Bologna and Italian Association of Scientific Divers
  • Prof. Dr. Tobias Fieback, TU Bergakademie Freiberg, Germany
  • Prof. Dr. Broder Merkel, TU Bergakademie Freiberg, Germany